What I can’t wait to see on You Tube

Standard

by Geri

Don't stare at me like that, I can't think straight.

Don't stare at me like that, I can't think straight.

You Tube is the confused teenager’s companion to all things lesbian pop. Armed with the right keywords and a good two hours, one can discover lots of things which one cannot hope to see in our local drama flicks. In fact, I attribute half of my lesbian pop knowledge to You Tube. This is after all, where I discovered Willow and Tara. This is where I watched My Summer of Love, D.E.B.S., Fingersmith and a whole lot of lesbo flicks when I can’t figure out how the hell can I get a DVD copy of each without my mother knowing. So when it comes to another queer film that has as much chance of being shown in the country as Brooke Smith does of ever returning to Grey’s Anatomy, where do you turn to? Good old You Tube.

I definitely can’t wait to see the film I Can’t Think Straight on You Tube ever since I saw the feature about it on AfterEllen. I can, of course, deal with waiting, as I had waited more than a year for Rome and Juliet to be uploaded, but when you see a trailer as meaty as this

one cannot help but feel like Callie Torres after Erica asked her on a date. Excited, check. Nervous, check. Because when a film promises British, Indian, Muslim, Arab, lesbian and romantic comedy all at once, there is a high chance  that it might not deliver. As I recall, our very own Rome and Juliet had a trailer as hot as this one, but the movie was way warm in comparison.

Still, lots of conflict in the plot, my kind of thing. As for a happy ending, it does not really matter to me as long as endings are justified and well built up. It is also interesting to note that the main characters are both women of color with one being an Indian which are like, my favorite people in the world.

Here is a synopsis of the film which I got from its imdb entry.

In the upper echelons of traditional Middle Eastern society, Reema and Omar prepare for the marriage of their daughter Tala. But back at work in London, Tala encounters Leyla, a young British Indian woman who is dating Tala’s best friend Ali. Tala sees something unique in the artless, clumsy, sensitive Leyla who secretly works to become a writer. And Tala’s forthright challenges to Leyla’s beliefs begins a journey of self-awareness for Leyla. As the women fall in love, Tala’s own sense of duty and cultural restraint cause her to pull away from Leyla and fly back to Jordan where the preparations for an ostentatious wedding are well under way. As family members descend and the wedding day approaches, the pressure mounts until Tala finally cracks and extricates herself. Back in London, Leyla is heartbroken but learns to break free of her own self-doubt and her mother’s expectations, ditching Ali and being honest with her parents about her sexuality. When Ali and Leyla’s feisty sister Zara help throw Tala and Leyla together again, Tala finds that her own preconceptions of what love can be is the final hurdle she must jump to win Leyla back. Written by Shamim Sarif

So, if by any epic chance, any of you might have snagged a copy of this jewel, upload ahead!

One response »

Leave a Reply

